Distinguished Alumni


Photo by Michael Caterina, South Bend Tribune.

Nathan Boyd (MS 2008) serves as the South Bend Community School Corporation's chief equity and multicultural officer. A former principal at LaSalle Intermediate School and Grissom Middle School, Boyd has been named Indiana Middle School Principal of the Year.


Photo courtesy IU South Bend.

Sarah Duis (BA 2014) was editor-in-chief of IU South Bend’s student paper, The Preface, and she was also a college correspondent for USA Today while in school. She is now a county reporter at The Elkhart Truth where she covers topics from politics and law enforcement to entertainment and non-profits.


Photo by Jayme Goetz and Salvador Perez Lopez.

Salvador Perez Lopez (BM 2018) is a clarinetist and, in 2019, was part of an ensemble that won three Grammy Awards. His work appeared on the album, “American Dreamers: Voices of Hope, Music of Freedom,” which featured a number of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) artists.